Cute as a Cactus

Whew. What a week. The boy and I left a week ago Saturday and flew to Burbank, CA (yay!). After a fabulous few days with friends we tracked down a rental car and headed off to Tehachapi (it’s okay,  I didn’t know where it was either!) to help my mother-in-law sort through a bunch of storage. After a lot of dust, about 200 boxes and some good fun, we loaded up a truck, trailer and SUV and started the trek back to Oklahoma. Thus my extended absence.

We had such a good time traveling through California, Arizona, New Mexico and Texas. The boy even agreed to make a detour to the Grand Canyon! I’ll have a ton of pictures to show you later on but I wanted to share with you my latest obsession – a.k.a. the succulent.

By absolutely no means do I have a green thumb. I scorched an herb garden when I was 7 and that’s about the extent of my gardening skills (although I did grow a pretty mean bean sprout in kindergarten and some tasty baby carrots in junior high). I love flowers but never think to grow them. Particularly since I’ve lived in an apartment for over 10 years!

While traveling through the desert  I became somewhat captivated by all things cactus, however. And to top it off, there is so much Native pottery that it looks just stunning in. I wanted a cactus (I later realized I actually wanted a succulent, but you get my point). And then to my dismay, there wasn’t one to be found! We stopped at every trading post and souvenir shop along Route 66 seeking out the perfect little guy to no avail! I finally found one at The Big Texan in Amarillo, TX but just hated its “made in china” pot.

So here I am, sitting at home cacti-free and wishing I had one of these.

cactus inspiration

Share

5 Comments

Filed under I heart...

5 responses to “Cute as a Cactus

  1. Love those! I also have a brown thumb, so I purchased 3 little cacti (love that word) for these planters that I have in Maddox’s room. I got them when he was born (over 2 years ago) and I MIGHT have watered them twice ever. They still look fabulous! Now that’s my kind of plant!

  2. Where did you get them? I can’t believe I’m so hung up over a cactus! :)

  3. So cute! Can’t wait to have succulents and cacti soon (very shortly moving into a new house). : D Thanks for sharing!

  4. I just got mine at Home Depot!!

  5. I didn’t realize cacti were so versatile! I love the ones that look as though they have petals. I think some cactus inspired jewelry or accessories might be in your future….

Leave a Reply

