Crafty Biz.

Announcing: My First Art Show.

Okay. Today I have some fairly exciting news. I have officially been accepted as an artist in an amaazziinngg local indie show. Debuting in 2004, The Girlie Show, as it’s called is now considered the show to be in around the area. Now I know some of the artists and crafty chicks who have been in the show and I’m flabbergasted (yes, flabbergasted) that they would even consider me.  The crazy thing is that this will practically be my first craft/art show since starting QUiD! I mean I’ve done some “just show up and sell your wares” type events, but nothing on this scale.  And now the fun begins.

 

Because this is my first show and I’m sure to learn a TON (maybe even 2 TONS) of things along the way, I thought I’d give you all a front row seat and let you watch me learn, fumble, cry, laugh hysterically at 2am while trying to stick my needle into another piece of aida with my eyes closed…you get the idea. Plus, I’m such a plan-it type girl it might be fun to see how that works out.

 

And I’m not gonna lie, I’m hoping there are a few art show experts who might be willing to lend some of their hard earned advice!

 

Well, first things first.

I decided that before I jump head on into creating I should do a little homework. Talking to some other Girlies, as they’re called, I found that they usually sell about half of their inventory. “But how the heck do I know how much inventory to make”, thought I? A seasoned crafter explained that a good way to decide is to figure out how much money you would like to make and then go from there. Based on the size of the show (The Girlie Show averaged about 2,500 people in a weekend last year) and how much my average item cost is, I can determine about how many items I’ll need.

 

So, it would go something like this:

 

Anyhow, based on that, I have a crack-load of work to do!

1 Comment

Filed under Crafty Biz.

One response to “Crafty Biz.

  1. Tia

    Oh congrats!! I did the Girlie Show last year with my HeyLady shop, it was so much fun! I had a great time. You’ll have to let us know how it goes!!

Leave a Reply

