Over the Weekend: Greenbelts

Wow! I’ve had an overwhelming time choosing this week’s featured etsian. I find so many great shops and meet so many talented sellers sometimes it’s incredibly difficult. And wonderfully exciting!

So, here she is…an uber-talented upcyclist reclaiming the art of tough girl chic. Meet Seattle artist and self-proclaimed child wrangler, Shannon Ritscher of Greenbelts.

QUiD: Describe your most memorable weekend (recent or just a fun one you remember). 
Shannon:
 Well, this was before I started making my Greenbelts but one of my more memorable weekend experiences happened on a date I once had (many moons ago). It started out at the ocean, flying kites. The pacific ocean is about 2 hours west of Seattle. After lunch we left the ocean, drove up to the Cascade mountains (about 2 hours east of Seattle) and went night snowboarding. We got back home just before midnight. All on one Saturday.

QE: What is your favorite thing about the weekends?
SR:
50% off sales at the Goodwill, Value Village and the Salvation Army.

QE: Hehe! Mine too! What do you do creatively over the weekend?
SR:
Recharge.

QE: Where is your favorite place to go/shop on the weekends?
SR:
Any second hand store that I can get my hands on.

QE: What/where do you like to eat on weekends?
SR:
We have a family friendly pub just down the street from our home. It’s in the industrial area of Seattle. Planes fly so low over the place that you can count the bolts on the underside of the body. I love to go there, sit back, eat a hummus plate or slice of pizza, drink a hard apple cider, listen to some good music, let Henry (my son) run around and chat with my neighbors. That’s my fave.

QE: Tell us a bit about your goods. What you make, how you got started, all the details! 
SR: Greenbelts are dog & cat collars, cuffs (both wrist and ankle), leashes, belts, and boot chains all made from recycled belts.

In 2003, I had a child, left my corporate design job, became a freelance graphic designer and was lost without a “steady” income/job. I’ve been a graphic designer for over a decade but I really wanted to create something with my hands. One day I found a fabulous thick studded leather dog collar that was like no other I’d ever seen and my dream started germinating. I’ve been a wee bit obsessed with recycling for many years and when I held that collar in my hands I knew I could make it’s equal (or better!) out of recycled materials.



A big “thank you” to Shannon for sharing a bit of her world with us! If you’re interested in being featured on QUiDessential, give us a shout! We love meeting new artists and expanding our world of creative friends! 

4 Comments

Filed under fashion

4 responses to “Over the Weekend: Greenbelts

  1. Thanks so much Heather for the great feature! I really appreciate the support. -Shannon

  2. Sewinggranny Mona

    Great feature….love to shop secondhand and recycle too!

Leave a Reply

