Haute Seat: Birdie

It’s not often I get to simply attend a craft show. Usually, I’m in the mix creating, setting up, tearing down and generally getting no sleep. So how lucky was I that this month I was able to visit the indie craft fair Deluxe, to shop. While I was there I met the cutest girl with the most adorable sense of style. I thought you should meet her.

Her Name is Katie M Huskerson. Her shop is The Birdie’s Nest. Her fashion sense is impeccable.
Perfect Summer Attire!

Perfect Summer Attire!

 

QUiD: If you could design alongside anyone, who would it be?
Katie: My mom. She is an amazing seamstress. She made all 11 of my bridesmaids dresses from a vintage Vogue pattern! She’s pretty awesome!

Qe: What do you do when you’re not doing your craft?
K: Riding bicycles with my husband Tyler, working in my garden, projects for our nearly 90 year old home…

Qe: Have you quit your day job?
K: In addition to sewing cotton clothes and accessories, I work part time at my families flower shop and greenhouses. I also do floral design for weddings and events. My day job is a conglomeration of a lot of little jobs that make my life feel creative and full.

Qe: If you could live anywhere, at any point in time, where would it be?
K: 18th century England…Jane Austen’s era

Qe: How would you describe your style?
K: Feminine and casual with lots of 1950s inspiration.

Qe: What’s the coolest piece of clothing you own?
K: Can I say an accessory? I treasure my engagement ring. Tyler designed it and used diamonds that had been his grandmother Kitty’s. I never had the priviledge of meeting her, but Tyler’s grand dad, Horace always had a twinkle in his eyes when he talked about the first time he saw her and how they fell in love. He passed away less than a week after we got engaged, so I treasure that I have something that was a symbol of their relationship.

Qe: Where do you see your business in the future?
K: My goal is to have a brick and mortar store within the next two years! Birdie will specialize in stylish and timeless, environmentally and socially responsible clothing and home decor. My great grandmother moved to Oklahoma from South Africa with some violets and orchids and built a business that continues to provide a vocation for her third and fourth generations. It’s in my blood to be an entrepreneur. I am so thankful to have such a supportive husband, family and community of friends that continue to encourage me to go my own way.


Qe: What’s your favorite thing you’ve created?
I really like my Blossom Skirts…they are super comfy. I pull one on with a tank top and some Toms and I’m ready to work, meet for lunch, go to the Farmer’s Market….perfect for hot Oklahoma summers.

Be Sure To Visit Katie at her Shop and her Blog!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Haute Seat: Birdie

  1. Thanks Heather for your interest in Birdie! Hope you enjoy your Sunshine Belt! Have a wonderful Memorial Day Weekend!

  2. the1and2and3

    Those belts are G.O.R.G.E.O.U.S. I love them! They are so cute and perfect for spring or summer! *faints at sight of they’re awesomeness*

    -kaunis.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

